About the IGA

About the International Gamers Award

The International Gamers Awards (IGA) were created to recognize outstanding games and designers, as well as the companies that publish them. The awards are truly international in scope, with committee members representing countries throughout the world. As such, it is our belief that these awards will truly select the ‘best of the best’ and come to be respected by not only hobbyists, but the general public at large. We hope that this will lead to greater exposure for these wonderful games to more and more people and help spread the word of the "wonderful world of gaming" on a global scale.

The International Gamers Awards were founded by Greg Schloesser in 1999 who became the first President of the IGA. After 21 years at the helm Greg handed over the reins to Alan How in 2020, so that he could concentrate on playng more boardgames and hiking around America. In 2022 Alan then passed the presidency over to Simon Weinberg.

The current categories of awards presented include:

Outstanding Game

These awards are designed to recognize THE outstanding game in several categories.

In order to be eligible in this category, a game must have been released on or after July 1st the preceding year and no later than June 30th of the current year.

Please visit the Members section to view the committee members serving on the International Gamers Awards and read more about them.

An Introduction to the IGA

Alan How wrote an article for the Summer 2021 issue of Tabletop Spirit Magazine giving a brief history of the IGA and an overview of the award process.

The magazine is available for free download at: bit.ly/TSM13_3gtd2mK